Saturday, May 28, 2016

The 2016 Theatre World Awards

Dear Friends

On May 23, 2016 the 72nd annual Theatre World Awards were announced for Outstanding Broadway and Off Broadway "debut performances" in the theatre.

Originally presented for the first time in 1945, the Theatre World Awards were founded by John Willis and are actually the oldest awards given to acknowledge outstanding performances in the theatre.  The awards are presented at the end of the theatre season to six actors and six actresses for their "significant, reviewable, debut performances in a Broadway and Off Broadway production".

The 2016 Theatre World Awards were given out in a ceremony at New York's Circle in the Square Theatre.  The host was respected theatre journalist Peter Filichia.

Have a look at the 2015-2016 season's Theatre World Awards honorees below if you have a moment.

Danielle Brooks, The Color Purple

Carmen Cusack, Bright Star
Khris Davis, The Royale
Daniel Durant, Spring Awakening
Cynthia Erivo, The Color Purple
John Krasinski, Dry Powder
Sarah Charles Lewis, Tuck Everlasting
Austin P. McKenzie, Spring Awakening
Lupita Nyong'o, Eclipsed
Mark Strong, A View From The Bridge
Ana VillafaƱe, On Your Feet
Ben Whishaw, The Crucible
* * * * *
2016 Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater Winner
Outstanding Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway Production:
Nicholas Barasch, for his performance as Arpad Lazslo in She Loves Me
* * * * *
2016 John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre Winner
I hope you found this post helpful.  Should you want to talk about purchasing tickets for any of the Broadway Shows currently playing, kindly consider a call to the local Broadway ticket experts at Applause-Tickets.

Rich Gladstone/President
723 7th Avenue, Suite 902
NY NY 10019
Phone 212-307-7050

No comments:

Post a Comment